Playing With Politics

A Blog on Law, Politics, Planning, Development, and Other Vices

Confessions of a Third Generation Latino

Posted by Roobs on June 2, 2010

This is the first post in a series entitled “Confessions of a Third-Generation Latino” to document and discuss my socio-cultural experiences growing up  Latino in California.  Be sure to check back for new posts.


Introduction

There are many stories out there about living as a Latino in America.  Whether that be here in California or elsewhere, I am glad to say that the stories of the Latino community are beginning to be brought out into the open.  Like these others, for some time i have wanted to write about my experiences growing up as a Mexican in California’s San Joaquin Valley.  However, I didn’t want to write because i wanted to add my name to their discussions.  Instead, i wanted to create a new discussion.

Many of the stories told are often the ones of the first generation Latino who came to America directly from south of the border, whether that be Mexico, Guatamala, El Salvador or wherever, or of those who are born of those who just recently came.  And while in no way do I diminish the validity and value of these stories, i wanted to tell a different story of the Latino who was already here and well established:  The Third-Generation.

I chose the third-generation not simply because I am third-generation but also because i feel this is the generation that finds itself at the crossroads of ethnic and cultural identity.  They are just far enough removed the cultural foundations of Latin America that they find it slightly foreign, but still recognize their cultural heritage.

I intend on writing a series of posts that go over my life in California as a third-generation Latino.  From going to school and growing up in the South San Joaquin Valley, moving to Berkeley and going to college to my move to Los Angeles to attend graduate school.  Like all discussion on race and identity, i expect those who read my posts to have varied opinions.  Again, i wish to emphasize that these are my personal opinions and experiences that i hope will foster a new discussion on what it means to grow up Latino.

My next post in this series will be on my early childhood as i first begin to experience the differences that separated me from my fellow community.

One Response to “Confessions of a Third Generation Latino”

  1. […] https://playingwithpolitics.wordpress.com/2010/06/02/confessions-of-a-third-generation-latino/ […]

Leave a Reply

 
